In 2002, 42,643 people were killed on American roads. (International Traffic and Accidents Database) At the Beal Driving Academy, we feel that we teach not only the skills for responsible, safe, defensive driving, but also a survival course to survive the most dangerous environment most of our students will face, the American road.
The Beal Driving Academy Difference: Every Driver’s Education Course Starts with Parent Orientation night. Our philosophy will be explained to the parent and the student.
We offer a variety of class times. If you miss a class we have times available to make up those classes quickly. You take your permit test during your last class. You must score 80% or higher to pass. Once you have completed your 30 hours of class, 10 hours of driving and pass your test, we will issue you a Maine State Driver Permit.
All class rules and regulations will be explained. Our State Certified Driver’s Education program includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, and 10 hours of hands-on driving with our veteran driving professionals
Parent Orientation Requirements:
- Parent or legal guardian and student must attend.
- Original Birth Certificate from issuing city or Passport must be on hand.
- The Students Social Security number must be on hand.
- A mandatory eye exam will be performed on every student on the night of Parent Orientation. If needed, glasses or contacts must be worn.
Maine has a law that requires a 3-step graduated drivers licensing system for new drivers who are under 18 years of age. The law includes restrictions for drivers under 21 years of age. The law is intended to allow Maine’s young people to gain valuable driving experience under lower risk conditions.
*What are the restrictions?
*Learner’s Permit – Under 21 years old:
- If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age that person must hold the permit for 6 months before applying for a road test and are prohibited from using a cellular phone while operating with a permit.
- If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age, they must log 70 hours of driving and 10 of the hours must be done after dark.
- If a permit expires, the person must take an exam for a new permit but will not be required to wait before applying for a road test. The restriction from using a cellular phone still applies.
*Learner’s Permit – Age 21 and Over:
- If a permit is issued to a person 21 years of age and over, that person does not have to wait 6 months before applying for a road test, however, they are prohibited from using a cellular phone while operating with a permit.
*Intermediate License – Under 18 years of age:
If a license is issued to a person under the age of 18, that person will receive an “Intermediate License” which prohibits the licensee from the following:
A. Carrying passengers other than immediate family members (grandparent; stepgrandparent; parent; stepparent; spouse; child; stepchildren; brother; sister; stepbrother; stepsister) unless accompanied by a licensed operator who meets the requirements of Title 29-A, 1304, subsection 1, paragraph E. For the purpose of this paragraph, “immediate family member” includes the following when living with the immediate family:
- A foreign exchange student;
- A person who is under court-appointed guardianship of an immediate family member; and
- A child whose parent is deployed for military service and is under guardianship of an immediate family member as provided on a United States Department of Defense Armed Forces Family Care Plan, DA Form 5305 or its successor form.
For the purpose of this paragraph, “deployed for military service” means assigned to active military duty with the state military forces, as defined in Title 37-B, section 102, or the United States Armed Forces, including the National Guard and Reserves, whether pursuant to orders of the Governor or the President of the United States, when the duty assignment is in a combat theater, in an area where armed conflict is taking place or in an area away from a person’s normal duty station;
B. Operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.; or
C. Operating a motor vehicle while using a mobile telephone.
*Source: Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles